Sena Norton, July 6, 2004

NOAA Teacher at Sea
Sena Norton
Onboard NOAA Ship Rainier

July 6 – 15, 2004

Mission: Hydrographic Survey
Geographical Area:
Eastern Aleutian Islands, Alaska
July 6, 2004

Location: In transit to Shumagin Islands, outside of Seward inlet.
Latitude: 59.31 N
Longitude: 149.41 W
Visibility: To horizon
Wind Direction: NW
Wind Speed: 20 kt
Swell wave height: 6ft
Sea level pressure:
Cloud cover: High sparse cloud cover

Personal Log

Day Activities

  • Ship paper work
  • Assign and don Survival Suit (communally called Gumby suit)
  • Took part in Abandon ship and fire drill. Got to my muster stations with ease and with all the required equipment and needs. Aided in hose management and stow.
  • Issued Mustang jacket and flotation vest for use on launches and skiffs.
  • Observed getting underway from the flying wing.
  • Took nature sightings: whale in distance, porpoise pod of 12+, puffin and gulls/seabirds.
We are in transit to our survey location and will be for the next 24-36 hours. Most personnel are on 4-hour watches and shifts. I watched the deck crew take care of the lines and stow all the equipment in its correct areas, which took longer than I first would have expected.
The “Gumby suit” was interesting to put on and try to get back into its bag. I could not believe how snuggly it fit around the wrist and neck…of course to be water proof that is the requirement. I feel very safe in knowing that I could survive if the need arouse.

I am a little queasy with the boat today…there isn’t much of a sea but just getting used to the motion is going to be interesting. I have my patch on but many people have told me my berth is nicknamed the ANTI-GRAVITY CHAMBER…not very good words for a land lover like myself.

It is proper etiquette to keep your rack light on at all times unless you are trying to sleep. That is a cue to your roommate to be quiet. If the light is on all clear…if the light is off “shhhhhh”. I didn’t know that even with my prior experience.

The weather is going to be very nice for the next 6 days according to the weather report I received via email from the XO today. We are to expect light winds and the 3-6 foot sea swell. That is cause for good science and nice observations. We are scheduled to begin the hydro survey on Thursday.

Leave a Reply

