Mavis Peterson, June 23, 2005

NOAA Teacher at Sea
Mavis Peterson
Onboard NOAA Ship Fairweather
June 21 – July 9, 2005

Mission: Hydrographic Survey
Geographical Area: North Pacific, Alaska
Date: June 23, 2005

Scientific Log 

This is my first day out on the launch.  The computer on the launch stays there all the time and is loaded with the programs that are needed.  The sonar scanning devices, GPS and radar are also on the launch. The launch makes sweeping rows across the chosen area to be scanned overlapping each row slightly to prevent “holes” in the information gathered. The operators keep a close watch on the depth and if it gets too shallow, they leave that area for the smaller shore boats to gather information on.  I am learning so much, and trying to decide how I can share this information with my fourth graders.  Surely reading maps and following directions accurately will be lessons.

Personal Log 

The sea air has gotten to me in more ways than one.  Not only did I feel the wave action this afternoon, but upon returning, I am very cold so I am retiring early tonight after writing some notes, and checking out tomorrow’s schedule.

Leave a Reply

