Jessica Schwarz, June 28, 2006

NOAA Teacher at Sea
Jessica Schwarz
Onboard NOAA Ship Rainier
June 19 – July 1, 2006

Mission: Hydrographic Survey
Geographical Area: Alaska
Date: June 28, 2006

The ship is underway, heading across the Gulf for Kodiak and to be honest the more I type the queasier my stomach feels so I’m keeping this entry short.

The seas are not rough today, I think they said between 5-7ft. swells, but the rocking of the ship has me feeling sick to my stomach a little bit.  I guess the more time you spend up top of the ship, the worse you might feel.

I went up to see the action in the bridge while we’re underway.  Able-Bodied Seaman (AB) Leslie Abramson let me take the helm for a few minutes.  There are several compasses to watch, basically all at one time, telling you the course you are on as well as your degrees of course change. Since we are in open ocean there were no useful landmarks to point towards to help me stay on course.  It was a very neat experience to be at the helm of the RAINIER.  She is a huge ship and it’s pretty incredible to feel her move with such small turns of the helm.

Okay, that’s all I’ve got. I’m not feeling too well and probably should find some motion sickness medication.  I’m eating my words of my last log and caving.  I’ve decided being a zombie beats feeling sick.

Just so ya know 

I threw up my dinner after finishing this log and with the garbage can at my bedside I slept quite well.  So, even after having taken sea sickness medication, I’m still puking…what’s up with that?  I guess there’s just no preventing these things  sometimes.

Leave a Reply

