Jessica Schwarz, July 2, 2006

NOAA Teacher at Sea
Jessica Schwarz
Onboard NOAA Ship Rainier
June 19 – July 1, 2006

Mission: Hydrographic Survey
Geographical Area: Alaska
Date: July 2, 2006

NOAA ship RAINIER, anchored in Islet Passage.

NOAA ship RAINIER, anchored in Islet Passage.

Personal Log

So I survived the trip across the Gulf with only some minor sea sickness and for the last couple days been having an incredible time with the crew of the RAINIER on Kodiak Island. The island is very green and we’ve been so lucky to have beautiful sunny weather.

The NOAA ship FAIRWEATHER, RAINIER’s sister ship, is in port as well. On Friday there was a Change of Command ceremony brining in a new Commanding Officer for FAIRWEATHER.  I visited the FAIRWEATHER today and it looks almost identical to RAINIER.  Seeing the ships docked side by side is pretty impressive.

Tomorrow I fly home to the Big Island and I just can’t believe how fast the time has flown by. I finally know my way around the ship and now it’s time to leave. I do want to say, as this is my last log, how grateful I am to have had this experience.  I have learned an amazing amount on a variety of different subjects and truly feel myself enriched both personally and professionally.

The crew of the RAINIER has been amazing! I can’t thank them enough for welcoming me aboard the ship and letting me hang with them these last couple weeks.  Everyone has been extremely generous with their time and has taught me an amazing amount!!  I am leaving the RAINIER, having made some great new friendships.  I feel sad to be on my way so soon, but very excited to share all that I’ve learned with my students at WHEA.

Thanks again to everyone at NOAA for providing educators with such a unique opportunity to live and work together with NOAA mariners and scientists!  It’s been great! I’d just like to know, when can I go again?

Mahalo and Aloha!! Jessica Schwarz

Leave a Reply

